photo (1)

I have been working on this ring since August of last year. This is my engagement ring. The center ceylon sapphire (3.80 cts.) is the original stone from my ring. I had the stone recut several years ago, and it sat in my desk because I could not decide on a design. Over the past 12 years I have remade this ring 4 times. I am happy to finally say this is my engagement ring and I will not be remaking it again! The metal in this ring is a combination of 14k white gold and 10k white gold. The outside edges of the ring and the setting for the sapphire was designed on a computer using a cad program. Once, I cast this part of the ring I was able to cut and solder the square wires in place. I then had 8 square wire bars set with diamonds. These strips were separate from the ring at this point. Once the ring was pre-polished I took the ring to have the bars laser welded into place. This was the only way I could get the overlapping effect that I wanted with the diamonds set into the square wires. Then, the center setting was set with diamonds as well as the prongs, and the sapphire was set at the end. The overall height of the ring is only the depth of the sapphire stone, thus it sits low on your finger. The width is almost 3/4″  so it is a wide ring, but with the negative space created in the ring it does not have a wide or heavy feeling to the design. This ring is bold, but elegant at the same time, and I know I will enjoy wearing it.